Comments on: Review: IFC’s ‘Portlandia’ http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/ Movie Reviews & TV Show Reviews Wed, 22 Jan 2014 14:54:30 +0000 hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.3.1 By: hipsters.eat.shit http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-107925 hipsters.eat.shit Sun, 10 Apr 2011 23:01:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-107925 ur a little bitch. ur a little bitch.

]]>
By: hipsters.eat.shit http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-107924 hipsters.eat.shit Sun, 10 Apr 2011 23:00:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-107924 It feels very self-indulgent. thats all hipsters will ever acheive. a pathetic sense of self-indulgence. It feels very self-indulgent.

thats all hipsters will ever acheive. a pathetic sense of self-indulgence.

]]>
By: hipsters.eat.shit http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-107923 hipsters.eat.shit Sun, 10 Apr 2011 22:54:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-107923 I have spent all my life in portnd and i can ssure you all THIS SHOW IS SHIT! it has nothing to do with portland, infact all of the stereo types on this show are based on a subculture of people who are not native to protalnd HIIPSTERS ARE A BUNCH OF TRUST FUND EASTCOAST RICH KIDS WHO HAVE RUINED PORTLAND WITH THEIR SHIT ATTITUDE A COKE ADDICTIONS>>> GO AWAY! I have spent all my life in portnd and i can ssure you all THIS SHOW IS SHIT! it has nothing to do with portland, infact all of the stereo types on this show are based on a subculture of people who are not native to protalnd HIIPSTERS ARE A BUNCH OF TRUST FUND EASTCOAST RICH KIDS WHO HAVE RUINED PORTLAND WITH THEIR SHIT ATTITUDE A COKE ADDICTIONS>>> GO AWAY!

]]>
By: Anonymous http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-107035 Anonymous Mon, 04 Apr 2011 03:44:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-107035 I agree...I've lived in Berkeley for years, the most mocked city in the USA, so I understand what this kind of humor should be like. I've tried to watch it 4 times now, and each time I gave up...it's JUST NOT FUNNY in any way shape or form. Incidentally, I feel the same way about SNL these days....it's so unfunny, it's cringe inducing. I agree…I’ve lived in Berkeley for years, the most mocked city in the USA, so I understand what this kind of humor should be like. I’ve tried to watch it 4 times now, and each time I gave up…it’s JUST NOT FUNNY in any way shape or form.

Incidentally, I feel the same way about SNL these days….it’s so unfunny, it’s cringe inducing.

]]>
By: Virginia Hipster http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-101270 Virginia Hipster Sat, 19 Feb 2011 04:34:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-101270 This show is not as much about Portland as much as it's about white urban hipsterdom. This show is not as much about Portland as much as it’s about white urban hipsterdom.

]]>
By: Virginia Hipster http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-101271 Virginia Hipster Sat, 19 Feb 2011 04:34:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-101271 This show is not as much about Portland as much as it's about white urban hipsterdom. This show is not as much about Portland as much as it’s about white urban hipsterdom.

]]>
By: Mark http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100809 Mark Fri, 11 Feb 2011 05:45:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100809 If this show is "wicked funny" then it is obvious that the target audience is...not Oregonians. I really wanted to like this show. There are tons of things that are hilarious about Portland, especially the hipster culture. This misses pretty much all of the good stuff. If this show is “wicked funny” then it is obvious that the target audience is…not Oregonians. I really wanted to like this show. There are tons of things that are hilarious about Portland, especially the hipster culture. This misses pretty much all of the good stuff.

]]>
By: Jennysparkle2000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100700 Jennysparkle2000 Tue, 08 Feb 2011 00:31:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100700 The gender bending characters are sooo aggravating and uncomfortable. The only episode I actually laughed at was the 2nd one. I was hoping it was getting better, but the 3rd episode was SO lame! The gender bending characters are sooo aggravating and uncomfortable. The only episode I actually laughed at was the 2nd one. I was hoping it was getting better, but the 3rd episode was SO lame!

]]>
By: Portlanddude503 http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100670 Portlanddude503 Sun, 06 Feb 2011 09:03:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100670 This show fucking sucks... I was hoping it would be good being from portland... But no it sucks dick!!! This show fucking sucks… I was hoping it would be good being from portland… But no it sucks dick!!!

]]>
By: Pamhogeweide http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100654 Pamhogeweide Sat, 05 Feb 2011 22:33:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100654 with a houseful of teenagers my husband and i sat down to watch the second episode. Laughed outloud several times! Colin the Chicken from episode one is practically now a celebrity in Portland (where we live)....the real jest of the show is hipster culture which Portland seems to be some kind of vortex for. After the show, we enjoyed a rousing conversation with the houseful of teens debating What is a hipster and Do we really care? Show is seen as funny in my hipster/non-hipster sphere of Portland peeps, but most of all we're just so damned pleased with ourselves for having a show make fun of our local hipster culture....and in keeping with the Portland hipster scene, episodes are being aired at McMenamin's Bagdad theater, an epicenter of all-things-hipsterfied! with a houseful of teenagers my husband and i sat down to watch the second episode. Laughed outloud several times! Colin the Chicken from episode one is practically now a celebrity in Portland (where we live)….the real jest of the show is hipster culture which Portland seems to be some kind of vortex for. After the show, we enjoyed a rousing conversation with the houseful of teens debating What is a hipster and Do we really care? Show is seen as funny in my hipster/non-hipster sphere of Portland peeps, but most of all we’re just so damned pleased with ourselves for having a show make fun of our local hipster culture….and in keeping with the Portland hipster scene, episodes are being aired at McMenamin’s Bagdad theater, an epicenter of all-things-hipsterfied!

]]>
By: Boston http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100635 Boston Sat, 05 Feb 2011 01:26:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100635 This show is ridiculously funny. The people who don't like this show are the people that take television and comedy way too seriously. Its poking fun at the tech-crazed, bike culture, grunge loving, apple product worshipers, hippie tree hugging people that could be found in any major city. I'm from Boston and see people like this in and around the city all the time. And what makes it unique is that its mocking a culture that exists presently. Maybe Armisen was too soon for some people. But i love it. This show is ridiculously funny. The people who don’t like this show are the people that take television and comedy way too seriously. Its poking fun at the tech-crazed, bike culture, grunge loving, apple product worshipers, hippie tree hugging people that could be found in any major city. I’m from Boston and see people like this in and around the city all the time. And what makes it unique is that its mocking a culture that exists presently. Maybe Armisen was too soon for some people. But i love it.

]]>
By: juandelacruz http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100630 juandelacruz Fri, 04 Feb 2011 19:39:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100630 I live in Portland and have lived in Oregon for 15years, Found the show to be very dull, obvious, and cheesy. The ratings will most likely be the only funny thing about it I live in Portland and have lived in Oregon for 15years, Found the show to be very dull, obvious, and cheesy. The ratings will most likely be the only funny thing about it

]]>
By: Lesamay http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100574 Lesamay Wed, 02 Feb 2011 18:40:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100574 This is NOT a funny show. It's weak and undeserving. This is NOT a funny show. It’s weak and undeserving.

]]>
By: AUSTIN http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100559 AUSTIN Wed, 02 Feb 2011 08:26:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100559 This show is really good. I'm from Austin and it reminds me of it so much of it. Best show in TV! This show is really good. I’m from Austin and it reminds me of it so much of it. Best show in TV!

]]>
By: Dana http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100526 Dana Tue, 01 Feb 2011 06:23:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100526 And how do you, my friend, propose it achieves this goal? By becoming a homogeneous hub of productivity like other, more lifeless cities? I can laugh at hippies, granolas, homesteaders, and militant feminists all day long, but I still don't find this show funny. We don't all share the same sense of humor, dontchaknow. And how do you, my friend, propose it achieves this goal? By becoming a homogeneous hub of productivity like other, more lifeless cities?

I can laugh at hippies, granolas, homesteaders, and militant feminists all day long, but I still don’t find this show funny. We don’t all share the same sense of humor, dontchaknow.

]]>
By: Dana http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100525 Dana Tue, 01 Feb 2011 06:19:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100525 Eh, I've lived in Northwest culture all my life. Still doesn't make this show funny. Just depends on your sense of humor, I suppose. Yes, a lot of the sketches are poignant, but that's not the only criteria for hilarity. I, personally, was disappointed. I say more Steve Buscemi! Eh, I’ve lived in Northwest culture all my life. Still doesn’t make this show funny. Just depends on your sense of humor, I suppose. Yes, a lot of the sketches are poignant, but that’s not the only criteria for hilarity. I, personally, was disappointed. I say more Steve Buscemi!

]]>
By: Portlandia sucks major balls http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100524 Portlandia sucks major balls Tue, 01 Feb 2011 04:44:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100524 Terrible, so bad...how could anyone think this crap is funny? Terrible, so bad…how could anyone think this crap is funny?

]]>
By: Jim http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100503 Jim Sun, 30 Jan 2011 06:28:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100503 The reviewer seems out of his depth on this. These sketches were wicked funny. The reviewer seems out of his depth on this. These sketches were wicked funny.

]]>
By: Cybestuntman http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100197 Cybestuntman Mon, 24 Jan 2011 19:11:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100197 The ones that dont find this funny....are the ones that the show is focuses on. Yes folks, they are not laughing with us, they are laughing at us. One day, Portland should become notable without having to rely on the freaks, wierdos and bums to make it so. The ones that dont find this funny….are the ones that the show is focuses on. Yes folks, they are not laughing with us, they are laughing at us.

One day, Portland should become notable without having to rely on the freaks, wierdos and bums to make it so.

]]>
By: Cybestuntman http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-100198 Cybestuntman Mon, 24 Jan 2011 19:11:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-100198 The ones that dont find this funny....are the ones that the show is focuses on. Yes folks, they are not laughing with us, they are laughing at us. One day, Portland should become notable without having to rely on the freaks, wierdos and bums to make it so. The ones that dont find this funny….are the ones that the show is focuses on. Yes folks, they are not laughing with us, they are laughing at us.

One day, Portland should become notable without having to rely on the freaks, wierdos and bums to make it so.

]]>
By: 925campclub http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-99755 925campclub Wed, 19 Jan 2011 20:50:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-99755 weak weak

]]>
By: John M http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-99735 John M Wed, 19 Jan 2011 02:40:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-99735 It's sort of boring. It’s sort of boring.

]]>
By: Redcat Steve http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-96190 Redcat Steve Tue, 18 Jan 2011 07:14:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-96190 So us weirdos in Portland really don't care about the negative stuff. Send us the TV show, and we'll watch it all ourselves. We like it her, and the TV show, and yes...it's all true. Hurray - they've got a OC 2-hour special on, with Tori Spelling. Run - go see! And while you're gone, us PDXers will watch another episode, starting at 4.20 So us weirdos in Portland really don’t care about the negative stuff. Send us the TV show, and we’ll watch it all ourselves. We like it her, and the TV show, and yes…it’s all true.

Hurray – they’ve got a OC 2-hour special on, with Tori Spelling. Run – go see! And while you’re gone, us PDXers will watch another episode, starting at 4.20

]]>
By: Bro-snake http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-96186 Bro-snake Tue, 18 Jan 2011 04:37:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-96186 you are clearly not from the pacific northwest. Portlandia is hilarious to all who are all too familiar with "hot girls with glasses" because portland is full of them. i suppose this show would not make sense to anyone who isnt already familiar with portland. that being said, i agree that the writing is a little weak. armisen and brownstein seem committed to their roles, but the skits need a little more, and i think it comes from the writing you are clearly not from the pacific northwest. Portlandia is hilarious to all who are all too familiar with “hot girls with glasses” because portland is full of them. i suppose this show would not make sense to anyone who isnt already familiar with portland.

that being said, i agree that the writing is a little weak. armisen and brownstein seem committed to their roles, but the skits need a little more, and i think it comes from the writing

]]>
By: mother http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-96170 mother Mon, 17 Jan 2011 18:30:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-96170 I'm a Portland native and when I first read about this show I thought wow, so much potential! Even with my expectations set low, I found it completely humorless and lacking wit. I’m a Portland native and when I first read about this show I thought wow, so much potential! Even with my expectations set low, I found it completely humorless and lacking wit.

]]>
By: Jdawg http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-96162 Jdawg Sun, 16 Jan 2011 20:53:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-96162 I was really excited to watch this show, but sadly disappointed in it's lack of hilarity. There are SO many hilarious things to make fun of in Portland! I love this town, but it is ripe for poking fun at. The concepts behind the sketches were funny, but the content within them just wasn't - it was more like slap-stick. Piling on the subtle references within the sketch would make the show a lot funnier. I agree this won't be funny to non-Portland-livers, but that's what this show is all about, right?! Do something about the knitting phenomena I was really excited to watch this show, but sadly disappointed in it’s lack of hilarity. There are SO many hilarious things to make fun of in Portland! I love this town, but it is ripe for poking fun at. The concepts behind the sketches were funny, but the content within them just wasn’t – it was more like slap-stick. Piling on the subtle references within the sketch would make the show a lot funnier. I agree this won’t be funny to non-Portland-livers, but that’s what this show is all about, right?! Do something about the knitting phenomena

]]>
By: Sayrock http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-96158 Sayrock Sun, 16 Jan 2011 02:58:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-96158 I have to agree with this review. I was really curious to see the first episode, and even though I'm not a big Armisen fan, I was looking forward to seeing Portland spoofed. It was easy to see what message they were trying to get across, but they just tried too hard. A little more subtlety might have helped. The whole thing came across like a high school stunt show. I have to agree with this review. I was really curious to see the first episode, and even though I’m not a big Armisen fan, I was looking forward to seeing Portland spoofed. It was easy to see what message they were trying to get across, but they just tried too hard. A little more subtlety might have helped. The whole thing came across like a high school stunt show.

]]>
By: Jdongweck http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-96150 Jdongweck Sat, 15 Jan 2011 20:34:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-96150 I loved it. Laughed out loud. Not sure what the reviewer watched but it wasn't this show. I loved it. Laughed out loud. Not sure what the reviewer watched but it wasn’t this show.

]]>
By: Cbjb http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-96142 Cbjb Sat, 15 Jan 2011 07:36:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-96142 All the moments you found redeeming about the premier, I thought were the least funny. Likewise, you seem to have missed the overall theme of the show: jabs at the ridiculousness that is Portland smugness. Not quite sure how you didn't get a laugh out of the bookstore ladies, but Armisen and Brownstein have good timing. Maybe you need a bit of a sketch-show refresher (KITH, etc.) to get back in the swing. All the moments you found redeeming about the premier, I thought were the least funny. Likewise, you seem to have missed the overall theme of the show: jabs at the ridiculousness that is Portland smugness. Not quite sure how you didn’t get a laugh out of the bookstore ladies, but Armisen and Brownstein have good timing. Maybe you need a bit of a sketch-show refresher (KITH, etc.) to get back in the swing.

]]>
By: Dsafads1 http://www.screenjunkies.com/tv/review-tv/review-ifcs-portlandia/#comment-96139 Dsafads1 Sat, 15 Jan 2011 05:10:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=13519#comment-96139 SO SEET SO SEET

]]>