Comments on: Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt. 1 http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/ Movie Reviews & TV Show Reviews Wed, 22 Jan 2014 14:54:30 +0000 hourly 1 http://wordpress.org/?v=3.3.1 By: Leona http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-100368 Leona Wed, 26 Jan 2011 04:04:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-100368 The books become more intense, the magic gets darker but the kids are always kids & therefor funny. I read all the books. As a mother Rowling really incorporated the innocence & mischievousness of kids in the story. It endears you to the characters. The school atmosphere is genius. To me, this movie was the worst so far. In the book the time spent in the woods was not as stagnant as the movie. There was the radio for example, the calling off names of dead & missing day & night made the scene more dull than intense. In the book, there was the banter of the Weasley twins Lee Jordon & others on the radio that encouraged the trio & the readers. There was the scene where they listen in on Dean Thomas & goblins that was cut out. They cut out a very humorous part with the house elf at Grimmauld Place. Also, the plot where all seven Harrry Potter goes straight to the burrow was not as intelligent as the book, where they go to different hideouts & get there by other means. It did not do as good a job as showing why Harry did not get killed by Voldemort when he was so close. It left to much magic out. The books become more intense, the magic gets darker but the kids are always kids & therefor funny. I read all the books. As a mother Rowling really incorporated the innocence & mischievousness of kids in the story. It endears you to the characters. The school atmosphere is genius. To me, this movie was the worst so far. In the book the time spent in the woods was not as stagnant as the movie. There was the radio for example, the calling off names of dead & missing day & night made the scene more dull than intense. In the book, there was the banter of the Weasley twins Lee Jordon & others on the radio that encouraged the trio & the readers. There was the scene where they listen in on Dean Thomas & goblins that was cut out. They cut out a very humorous part with the house elf at Grimmauld Place. Also, the plot where all seven Harrry Potter goes straight to the burrow was not as intelligent as the book, where they go to different hideouts & get there by other means. It did not do as good a job as showing why Harry did not get killed by Voldemort when he was so close. It left to much magic out.

]]>
By: Leona http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-100369 Leona Wed, 26 Jan 2011 04:04:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-100369 The books become more intense, the magic gets darker but the kids are always kids & therefor funny. I read all the books. As a mother Rowling really incorporated the innocence & mischievousness of kids in the story. It endears you to the characters. The school atmosphere is genius. To me, this movie was the worst so far. In the book the time spent in the woods was not as stagnant as the movie. There was the radio for example, the calling off names of dead & missing day & night made the scene more dull than intense. In the book, there was the banter of the Weasley twins Lee Jordon & others on the radio that encouraged the trio & the readers. There was the scene where they listen in on Dean Thomas & goblins that was cut out. They cut out a very humorous part with the house elf at Grimmauld Place. Also, the plot where all seven Harrry Potter goes straight to the burrow was not as intelligent as the book, where they go to different hideouts & get there by other means. It did not do as good a job as showing why Harry did not get killed by Voldemort when he was so close. It left to much magic out. The books become more intense, the magic gets darker but the kids are always kids & therefor funny. I read all the books. As a mother Rowling really incorporated the innocence & mischievousness of kids in the story. It endears you to the characters. The school atmosphere is genius. To me, this movie was the worst so far. In the book the time spent in the woods was not as stagnant as the movie. There was the radio for example, the calling off names of dead & missing day & night made the scene more dull than intense. In the book, there was the banter of the Weasley twins Lee Jordon & others on the radio that encouraged the trio & the readers. There was the scene where they listen in on Dean Thomas & goblins that was cut out. They cut out a very humorous part with the house elf at Grimmauld Place. Also, the plot where all seven Harrry Potter goes straight to the burrow was not as intelligent as the book, where they go to different hideouts & get there by other means. It did not do as good a job as showing why Harry did not get killed by Voldemort when he was so close. It left to much magic out.

]]>
By: julian http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94225 julian Thu, 25 Nov 2010 21:40:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94225 why dont you grow a pair and drag ur gf to a movie then bitch why dont you grow a pair and drag ur gf to a movie then bitch

]]>
By: guest http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94112 guest Mon, 22 Nov 2010 21:15:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94112 the books are way better than the movies. the movies have absolutely no explanations such as...how dobby knows Ron, why the burrow is still standing, how Bill got attacked, etc, etc, etc. the books are way better than the movies. the movies have absolutely no explanations such as…how dobby knows Ron, why the burrow is still standing, how Bill got attacked, etc, etc, etc.

]]>
By: Amber http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94111 Amber Mon, 22 Nov 2010 21:09:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94111 Honestly, I an say that the movie was bad, but that is because I am a diehard HP book fan, and considering that they split the deathly hallows into two movies, they had a lot of time to work with, without adding stuff that ought not be there, and leaving out explanations that should. My advice, if you want adventure and explanations, read the books, because there is more detail, more fighting and more action. Honestly, I an say that the movie was bad, but that is because I am a diehard HP book fan, and considering that they split the deathly hallows into two movies, they had a lot of time to work with, without adding stuff that ought not be there, and leaving out explanations that should. My advice, if you want adventure and explanations, read the books, because there is more detail, more fighting and more action.

]]>
By: Marilyn http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94110 Marilyn Mon, 22 Nov 2010 20:42:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94110 I think you need to recognize that this is movie is a representation of the books. I'm sorry if you found their camping trip to be boring, but that's really what happens. They camp around to try to figure out where to find the Horcruxes. This movie actually shortened their camping trip, and added a spark of humor to it. And no, they can not just cut out the camping trips because they're a significant part of the book. And if you even a SENTENCE of the book, you'd know that it's spelled "Dumbledore" not "Dumbelldoor." I don't think that you're unworthy of watching the movies, but I do find it ridiculous when people complain about how lengthy, boring, and insignificant certain scenes are when they haven't read the books. Ironic how the moviefans complain about the length and boringness of it all, whereas the book fans complain about the lack of depth. There has to be a medium to it all, and this movie was a fantastic portrayal of that medium. I think you need to recognize that this is movie is a representation of the books. I’m sorry if you found their camping trip to be boring, but that’s really what happens. They camp around to try to figure out where to find the Horcruxes. This movie actually shortened their camping trip, and added a spark of humor to it. And no, they can not just cut out the camping trips because they’re a significant part of the book.

And if you even a SENTENCE of the book, you’d know that it’s spelled “Dumbledore” not “Dumbelldoor.”

I don’t think that you’re unworthy of watching the movies, but I do find it ridiculous when people complain about how lengthy, boring, and insignificant certain scenes are when they haven’t read the books.

Ironic how the moviefans complain about the length and boringness of it all, whereas the book fans complain about the lack of depth. There has to be a medium to it all, and this movie was a fantastic portrayal of that medium.

]]>
By: megan http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94107 megan Mon, 22 Nov 2010 18:56:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94107 I hate you. I hate you.

]]>
By: DumbbellDoor http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94098 DumbbellDoor Mon, 22 Nov 2010 09:25:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94098 I have watched all the movies in the HP series, but have not read any of the books. I've loved the all the HP movies, except for Deathly Hallows, and the previous release. I thought the last potter movie sucked, but boy did deathly hallows change my stance on the last picture, as deathly hallow pt1 was a bit too long and boring for my taste. This movie to me was boring, and I say that as a casual movie goer and a fan of the Harry Potter films. The key words in that sentence incase you fan boys want to flame, are TO ME, and FAN OF THE HP MOVIES, not the books. I felt the same way about this movie as the reviewer did. I felt after the first 30-40 mins, it turned into the lord of the rings where fredo, sam, and golum need to destroy the ring of power. Do you realize how angry I was when I realized there were 3 more trinkets that potter needs to destroy. It took harry nearly 90 mins to find one trinket and now he has to find 3 more???? Another stupid move I thought was bringing up some lady named bagshot. I was actually looking forward to hearing what bagshot had to say about dumbelldore but we never get a chance to learn more about dumbelldore . It was also actually painful to watch these boring scenes between potter and granger.The best parts of the movie were the first 30mins, the ministry break in, and the last 30mins. The rest I felt was pandering to the hardcore book people and not the causal fan. If any fanboys are offended, don;t take it to heart. If you love the movie, then thats all that matters. I'm simply sharing my experience of the film. The world isnt going to end if people actually walk out of this movie thinking it sucked. And i realize almost anyone who thinks that, is probably one who has not read the potter books. And to me, when has it become mandatory to read a book in order to get some enjoyment out of a movie. I can understand that watching all the Harry potter movies are important in understanding the movie, but I refuse to read a book just in order to watch a movie. In summary, I think you fanboys need to put the word out that casual movie goer are not allowed, because we are the like the muggles right? unpure because we havent read the books and not worthy enough of watching harry ppotter I bet. I have watched all the movies in the HP series, but have not read any of the books. I’ve loved the all the HP movies, except for Deathly Hallows, and the previous release. I thought the last potter movie sucked, but boy did deathly hallows change my stance on the last picture, as deathly hallow pt1 was a bit too long and boring for my taste.

This movie to me was boring, and I say that as a casual movie goer and a fan of the Harry Potter films. The key words in that sentence incase you fan boys want to flame, are TO ME, and FAN OF THE HP MOVIES, not the books.

I felt the same way about this movie as the reviewer did. I felt after the first 30-40 mins, it turned into the lord of the rings where fredo, sam, and golum need to destroy the ring of power. Do you realize how angry I was when I realized there were 3 more trinkets that potter needs to destroy. It took harry nearly 90 mins to find one trinket and now he has to find 3 more???? Another stupid move I thought was bringing up some lady named bagshot. I was actually looking forward to hearing what bagshot had to say about dumbelldore but we never get a chance to learn more about dumbelldore . It was also actually painful to watch these boring scenes between potter and granger.The best parts of the movie were the first 30mins, the ministry break in, and the last 30mins. The rest I felt was pandering to the hardcore book people and not the causal fan.

If any fanboys are offended, don;t take it to heart. If you love the movie, then thats all that matters. I’m simply sharing my experience of the film. The world isnt going to end if people actually walk out of this movie thinking it sucked. And i realize almost anyone who thinks that, is probably one who has not read the potter books. And to me, when has it become mandatory to read a book in order to get some enjoyment out of a movie. I can understand that watching all the Harry potter movies are important in understanding the movie, but I refuse to read a book just in order to watch a movie. In summary, I think you fanboys need to put the word out that casual movie goer are not allowed, because we are the like the muggles right? unpure because we havent read the books and not worthy enough of watching harry ppotter I bet.

]]>
By: Neal Klein http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94081 Neal Klein Sat, 20 Nov 2010 18:36:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94081 Your observations are not entirely biased, but they are slanted enough that this review should really have been handed to someone else. Think about it: who is going to watch this film? Fans and followers of the story. If a reviewer does not even like the story he's reviewing, it is irresponsible of the editor to make him review a film the reviewer is going to dislike. Mr. Topel at least was honest about what he liked/disliked, but honesty is not the only element in a useful film review. Your observations are not entirely biased, but they are slanted enough that this review should really have been handed to someone else. Think about it: who is going to watch this film? Fans and followers of the story. If a reviewer does not even like the story he’s reviewing, it is irresponsible of the editor to make him review a film the reviewer is going to dislike. Mr. Topel at least was honest about what he liked/disliked, but honesty is not the only element in a useful film review.

]]>
By: Njrp2000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94080 Njrp2000 Sat, 20 Nov 2010 18:18:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94080 I agree with you.. I have heard repeatedly that the movie is humorless and that most of the time they spend time sulking. I ask the reviewers to take this into consideration. The characters in question are 17 years old, one of them has been told he is either going to kill or be killed by a mortal enemy. They have seen their lives be destroyed over the course of a year. One of them had to make their parents forget they had a daughter in order to save their lives. The other had to leave his family behind to be submitted to god knows what because they were friends of the protagonist. Which of those situations are funny to critics? Better yet, what drug induced fantasy world do they live in that someone wouldn't sulk a little if they were put in the same situation? I'd say the film itself is an accurate representation of what would happen given those circumstances. My only complaint from the film is that there should have been more out of Harry in the graveyard scene (no more details to avoid spoilers to those who haven't read the book or seen the movie yet.) I agree with you.. I have heard repeatedly that the movie is humorless and that most of the time they spend time sulking.

I ask the reviewers to take this into consideration. The characters in question are 17 years old, one of them has been told he is either going to kill or be killed by a mortal enemy. They have seen their lives be destroyed over the course of a year. One of them had to make their parents forget they had a daughter in order to save their lives. The other had to leave his family behind to be submitted to god knows what because they were friends of the protagonist.

Which of those situations are funny to critics?

Better yet, what drug induced fantasy world do they live in that someone wouldn’t sulk a little if they were put in the same situation?

I’d say the film itself is an accurate representation of what would happen given those circumstances. My only complaint from the film is that there should have been more out of Harry in the graveyard scene (no more details to avoid spoilers to those who haven’t read the book or seen the movie yet.)

]]>
By: Voldermort http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94077 Voldermort Sat, 20 Nov 2010 17:26:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94077 you sir, are a complete wanker. a moron. a twat. and a really bad reviewer you sir, are a complete wanker. a moron. a twat. and a really bad reviewer

]]>
By: AQUATEA http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94075 AQUATEA Sat, 20 Nov 2010 15:11:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94075 A "popcorn flick" is a movie with no thought or substance, just mindless action. Even the reviewer, who gave the film a negative review, wouldn't agree that Harry Potter is a mindless adventure movie. If anything, his complaint is that the movie is too pensive, to the detriment of those unfamiliar with the series. "Popcorn flick" has nothing to do with how much money a film makes. A “popcorn flick” is a movie with no thought or substance, just mindless action. Even the reviewer, who gave the film a negative review, wouldn’t agree that Harry Potter is a mindless adventure movie. If anything, his complaint is that the movie is too pensive, to the detriment of those unfamiliar with the series. “Popcorn flick” has nothing to do with how much money a film makes.

]]>
By: Hinchy http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94074 Hinchy Sat, 20 Nov 2010 11:22:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94074 Best review ever for non-fans. Agree 100% as I was dragged to this by my gf. Harry Potter fans should grow up and read some real fantasy. I recommend Erikson, Martin, and Donaldson. Best review ever for non-fans. Agree 100% as I was dragged to this by my gf. Harry Potter fans should grow up and read some real fantasy. I recommend Erikson, Martin, and Donaldson.

]]>
By: Guest http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94073 Guest Sat, 20 Nov 2010 05:30:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94073 Maybe the movie would be more enjoyable if you took your head out of your ass and actually listened to the people talking. Maybe the movie would be more enjoyable if you took your head out of your ass and actually listened to the people talking.

]]>
By: Pete Best http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94071 Pete Best Sat, 20 Nov 2010 02:52:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94071 I just watched Casino Royale. I don't understand it? Why does the main character kill so many people? Ian Fleming owes me money. I just watched Casino Royale. I don’t understand it? Why does the main character kill so many people? Ian Fleming owes me money.

]]>
By: Lil' Beau Peep http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94070 Lil' Beau Peep Sat, 20 Nov 2010 02:48:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94070 There are legitimate reasons to critcize this film, but "I don't like the Harry Potter series" is not one of them. The argument of this critic seems to be, "If you just make the movie more dumb, I might understand it." Critics shouldn't be dumb. They should provide insight that your average sheep herder is unable to provide. This guy might want to consider a career as a sheep herder. There are legitimate reasons to critcize this film, but “I don’t like the Harry Potter series” is not one of them. The argument of this critic seems to be, “If you just make the movie more dumb, I might understand it.” Critics shouldn’t be dumb. They should provide insight that your average sheep herder is unable to provide. This guy might want to consider a career as a sheep herder.

]]>
By: Aaron http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94063 Aaron Fri, 19 Nov 2010 21:07:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94063 Mmm... Maybe this isn't super positive critique. I liked the review style and am glad that someone who hasn't read this book is reviewing the movie because a lot of people haven't either. Mmm… Maybe this isn’t super positive critique. I liked the review style and am glad that someone who hasn’t read this book is reviewing the movie because a lot of people haven’t either.

]]>
By: sasuke http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94064 sasuke Fri, 19 Nov 2010 21:07:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94064 Good review. Something different from the usual stuff. Good review. Something different from the usual stuff.

]]>
By: Jesus Ramirez Jr http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94062 Jesus Ramirez Jr Fri, 19 Nov 2010 19:43:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94062 First of all, I have read many reviews, and they are all the same with saying "Scenery change" or "the characters spend their time mostly sulking" and the worst of all, "the movie is HUMORLESS" and they give them a bad rating for this, why? That is what the first big half of the book is about, EXACTLY that. The book is not happy like the previous books, it is all in a dark theme. So if you will write a review on a movie BASED on a book, then you should do your homework and read the book, or you don't write anything at all. First of all, I have read many reviews, and they are all the same with saying “Scenery change” or “the characters spend their time mostly sulking” and the worst of all, “the movie is HUMORLESS”
and they give them a bad rating for this, why? That is what the first big half of the book is about, EXACTLY that. The book is not happy like the previous books, it is all in a dark theme. So if you will write a review on a movie BASED on a book, then you should do your homework and read the book, or you don’t write anything at all.

]]>
By: DavidW http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94061 DavidW Fri, 19 Nov 2010 19:24:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94061 Fred, I'm not going to yell at you incoherently like the other commenters. Rather, as someone who'd genuinely like to see you get better at writing reviews, I'm simply going to offer you a few pieces of advice: 1. Never begin a review by stating that you had a negative bias going into a film, especially something as extreme as suggesting you dislike the entire source material and franchise on general principle. Most readers will immediately distrust your review of the film because there's no way to know if it's a reliable representation of whether or not the movie's actually good. And that's your job. 2. This film is the seventh in a series. As such, it makes no sense to criticize it for not properly explaining the backstory to newcomers who aren't familiar with the other films. You wouldn't expect a "layman" to start reading a book series 7 books in, nor would someone begin watching a TV series 7 seasons in. Being familiar with the earlier parts of a series doesn't automatically make someone a "die-hard fan," it just means that have the common sense to not expect to be spoon-fed everything every step of the way. 3. Occasionally try to use sentences longer than 15 words. Don't get me wrong, short sentences can be useful and appropriate, but when they're all you use paragraph after paragraph, you start sounding like a hyperactive 12-year-old who can't form complex thoughts. Best of luck! Fred, I’m not going to yell at you incoherently like the other commenters. Rather, as someone who’d genuinely like to see you get better at writing reviews, I’m simply going to offer you a few pieces of advice:

1. Never begin a review by stating that you had a negative bias going into a film, especially something as extreme as suggesting you dislike the entire source material and franchise on general principle. Most readers will immediately distrust your review of the film because there’s no way to know if it’s a reliable representation of whether or not the movie’s actually good. And that’s your job.

2. This film is the seventh in a series. As such, it makes no sense to criticize it for not properly explaining the backstory to newcomers who aren’t familiar with the other films. You wouldn’t expect a “layman” to start reading a book series 7 books in, nor would someone begin watching a TV series 7 seasons in. Being familiar with the earlier parts of a series doesn’t automatically make someone a “die-hard fan,” it just means that have the common sense to not expect to be spoon-fed everything every step of the way.

3. Occasionally try to use sentences longer than 15 words. Don’t get me wrong, short sentences can be useful and appropriate, but when they’re all you use paragraph after paragraph, you start sounding like a hyperactive 12-year-old who can’t form complex thoughts.

Best of luck!

]]>
By: Bothgunsblazin http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94060 Bothgunsblazin Fri, 19 Nov 2010 19:17:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94060 I've never read the books and have no interest in reading them, but I have seen all the films. The challenge, which has been hit-and-miss, is to make these movies appealing as movies -- not as adaptations that cater to a specific audience -- but as stand-alone pieces of artistic expression. Were I an avid reader I might have enjoyed this film, but as a film-goer it did little to hold my attention. The bursts of action at beginning and end were fun, but the second and third act were slow, offered little by way of plot development (instead substituting needless and underwhelming character development), and left me at times drifting off to my thoughts. For avid readers, as always, there were things left out, and for casual film-goers there were just too many things left out to make it enjoyable, and at times, understandable. This film was akin to "Robin Hood" starring Russel Crow -- a 2.5 hour trailer-of-sorts for the film people really want to see. But these movies are a cash cow, so splitting them up is just business savvy movie making. I’ve never read the books and have no interest in reading them, but I have seen all the films. The challenge, which has been hit-and-miss, is to make these movies appealing as movies — not as adaptations that cater to a specific audience — but as stand-alone pieces of artistic expression. Were I an avid reader I might have enjoyed this film, but as a film-goer it did little to hold my attention. The bursts of action at beginning and end were fun, but the second and third act were slow, offered little by way of plot development (instead substituting needless and underwhelming character development), and left me at times drifting off to my thoughts.

For avid readers, as always, there were things left out, and for casual film-goers there were just too many things left out to make it enjoyable, and at times, understandable. This film was akin to “Robin Hood” starring Russel Crow — a 2.5 hour trailer-of-sorts for the film people really want to see. But these movies are a cash cow, so splitting them up is just business savvy movie making.

]]>
By: Joni http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94059 Joni Fri, 19 Nov 2010 18:54:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94059 Yes for the average movie goer this movie was "boring" for the avid fan who has actually READ the books it was great, not AMAZING but it followed the story line but didn't waste time touching on several things. As a fan I knew this was going to be a slow movie. But personally it did the book much justice. Yes for the average movie goer this movie was “boring” for the avid fan who has actually READ the books it was great, not AMAZING but it followed the story line but didn’t waste time touching on several things. As a fan I knew this was going to be a slow movie. But personally it did the book much justice.

]]>
By: Van Balanzat http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94058 Van Balanzat Fri, 19 Nov 2010 18:46:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94058 Before even reading it, thought this was more of a troll review. Skimmed through it. Saw things like, "I’m certainly not going to read any more of them..." Yeah, troll review just to get some hits to their website. Can't take it seriously. Next. Before even reading it, thought this was more of a troll review.
Skimmed through it.
Saw things like, “I’m certainly not going to read any more of them…”
Yeah, troll review just to get some hits to their website. Can’t take it seriously. Next.

]]>
By: revolrtol http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94057 revolrtol Fri, 19 Nov 2010 18:32:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94057 " The books got worse and worse as they went along " - you are drunk, man. ” The books got worse and worse as they went along ” – you are drunk, man.

]]>
By: revolrtol http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94056 revolrtol Fri, 19 Nov 2010 18:26:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94056 I believe this series " gets asses in the seats" because of the magic that comes from the books. I mean, there are many, many successful books series, like Golden Compass and the other fantasy series you know, with Jim Carey in the movie (sry, I live in Hungary, don't know the English title) they have tons of fans, but still when it comes to the films - the fans and the people are simply not interested in them. Why??? And why Harry Potter is still alive in Hollywood? I believe because of the magic that is Rowling's desert. I believe this series ” gets asses in the seats” because of the magic that comes from the books. I mean, there are many, many successful books series, like Golden Compass and the other fantasy series you know, with Jim Carey in the movie (sry, I live in Hungary, don’t know the English title) they have tons of fans, but still when it comes to the films – the fans and the people are simply not interested in them. Why??? And why Harry Potter is still alive in Hollywood? I believe because of the magic that is Rowling’s desert.

]]>
By: Not a great review... http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94055 Not a great review... Fri, 19 Nov 2010 17:54:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94055 I'm not a film critic, but if I were to write a review, I would make sure to include a shred of logic behind my insults...I understand that not everyone is a die-hard Harry Potter fan, but if you are going to review a movie by referencing the quality of the books, shouldn't you at least uphold your credibility by reading them? At least state initially in your review that you have not read the final three books in the series, that way any Harry Potter fans can close the window up front, rather than listening to your skewed and vague criticisms. I’m not a film critic, but if I were to write a review, I would make sure to include a shred of logic behind my insults…I understand that not everyone is a die-hard Harry Potter fan, but if you are going to review a movie by referencing the quality of the books, shouldn’t you at least uphold your credibility by reading them? At least state initially in your review that you have not read the final three books in the series, that way any Harry Potter fans can close the window up front, rather than listening to your skewed and vague criticisms.

]]>
By: Juice http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94054 Juice Fri, 19 Nov 2010 17:42:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94054 Key word "Almost", thank goodness they bypassed it. Great film! Key word “Almost”, thank goodness they bypassed it. Great film!

]]>
By: PP http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94053 PP Fri, 19 Nov 2010 16:50:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94053 All you potter stans are psychotic. That movie is fuckin boring All you potter stans are psychotic. That movie is fuckin boring

]]>
By: Eric http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94051 Eric Fri, 19 Nov 2010 15:41:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94051 Really? This was the best and most emotional film in the series. The reviewer admits at the start his bad attitude towards the film. So much for objectivity. Awful review. Really? This was the best and most emotional film in the series. The reviewer admits at the start his bad attitude towards the film. So much for objectivity.

Awful review.

]]>
By: Andyconda88 http://www.screenjunkies.com/movies/movie-review/review-harry-potter-and-the-deathly-hallows-pt-1/#comment-94050 Andyconda88 Fri, 19 Nov 2010 15:05:00 +0000 http://www.screenjunkies.com/?p=8672#comment-94050 Did you just say HARRY POTTER isn't a popcorn flick? The movie that's going to get asses in the seats for months to come--the one that was almost hastily converted into 3D just to get more money? Isn't a popcorn movie? Sorry, you're not credible. I like HP and the movies but this comment sucked. Did you just say HARRY POTTER isn’t a popcorn flick? The movie that’s going to get asses in the seats for months to come–the one that was almost hastily converted into 3D just to get more money? Isn’t a popcorn movie? Sorry, you’re not credible. I like HP and the movies but this comment sucked.

]]>