Reviews - Page 3

friends-with-benefits
Review: Friends With Benefits
Friday, July 22 by

Ultimately, it becomes the typical Hollywood comedy that tries to get serious in the end.

'Cars 2'
DVD Rundown: Cars, Fanny and Alexander, Blue Velvet, Mutiny On The Bounty, Band of Brothers/The Pacific
Thursday, July 21 by

Yee-haw.

captain-america1
Review: Captain America: The First Avenger
Wednesday, July 20 by

A fun origin story with the heart of an underdog really experiencing the wonder of his new powers.

So long, Potter.
What’s Playing This Weekend: July 15th
Friday, July 15 by

Here’s what’s playing for the weekend of July 15th, 2011

Tucker And Dale
Review: Tucker And Dale Vs. Evil
Wednesday, July 13 by

The performances make this a fun, gory horror flick.

Harry Potter vs Voldemort Deathly Hallows 2
Review: ‘Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Part 2′
Monday, July 11 by

An action-packed, fitting conclusion to a monumental franchise.

Horrible Bosses
Review: Horrible Bosses
Wednesday, July 6 by

Exactly the safe kind of mainstream comedy you’d expect it to be.

larry-crowne
Review: Larry Crowne
Thursday, June 30 by

It’s like a highbrow ‘Billy Madison’.

transformers-7
Review: Transformers: Dark Of The Moon
Wednesday, June 29 by

If this were just a movie about cool robot fights, that would be awesome. That’s not what it is though.

mr-nobody-2009-15569-1113870202
LAFF Review: Mr Nobody
Monday, June 27 by

I relate to most movies by thinking about my past. ‘Mr. Nobody’ has me evaluating my future.

The-Future
LAFF Review: The Future
Monday, June 27 by

The film gets sexual, metaphysical, silly, philosophical, and stirs up a lot of feelings.

Don t Be Afraid of the Dark
LAFF Review: Don’t Be Afraid Of The Dark
Sunday, June 26 by

A solid creature feature in the vein of the’80s puppet movies

cars-2
Review: Cars 2
Friday, June 24 by

Pixar’s second worst movie. Boring, stupid, and full of bad creative decisions.

Rachael Harris and Matt O'Leary in Natural Selection
LAFF Review: Natural Selection
Thursday, June 23 by

A beautiful performance by Rachael Harris in a terrific first film by writer/director Robbie Pickering.

a-better-life-movie-photo-1
LAFF Review: A Better Life
Wednesday, June 22 by

A real thriller with intense stakes, against the backdrop of a relevant social issue.

bad-teacher
Review: Bad Teacher
Tuesday, June 21 by

Doesn’t quite go all the way into dark comedy but it’s unapologetically cynical and that makes for good laughs.

life-happens
LAFF Review: L!fe Happens
Sunday, June 19 by

Kat Coiro’s debut feature makes some of the same mistakes as other standard Hollywood movies, but it gets a lot more right.

drive
LAFF Review: Drive
Sunday, June 19 by

An gripping action movie by way of atmosphere and build-up.

green-lantern-film
What’s Playing This Weekend? (June 17th)
Friday, June 17 by

It’s a great week to be a movie fan. Of course course by “great,” I mean “abysmal.”

attack_the_block_05
Review: Attack The Block
Friday, June 17 by

An extremely well done, fun film with terrific creatures.

mr-poppers-penguins1
Review: Mr. Popper’s Penguins
Friday, June 17 by

A Jim Carrey penguin movie. It totally delivers on having Jim Carrey and penguins in it.

green-lantern-gun
Review: Green Lantern
Thursday, June 16 by

Looks like a big cartoon, but it’s a really cool cartoon.

Terri-movie
LAFF Review: Terri
Wednesday, June 15 by

Terri is a fat kid, but they don’t play the fat card very long.

the-guard-movie-photo-04-550x366
LAFF Review: The Guard
Friday, June 10 by

Basically, it’s ‘Rush Hour’ with an obnoxious WHITE cop, and a reasonable competent black agent has to deal with him.

higher-ground-movie-photo-vera-farmiga-550x366
LAFF Review: Higher Ground
Thursday, June 9 by

It is more often uncomfortable but sometimes profound and inspiring.

The Devil's Double
LAFF Review: The Devil’s Double
Thursday, June 9 by

An interesting twist on the crime saga/warlord genre, told through the perspective of an outsider forced to be inside.

super-8-thumb
Review: Super 8
Monday, June 6 by

Turns out to be a patronizing exercise in fabricated childhood emotion.

download-x-men-first-class-movie-2
Review: X-Men: First Class
Sunday, June 5 by

It’s so good, I held my pee for at least 90 minutes because I didn’t want to miss anything.

the-hangover-2-poster
What’s Playing This Weekend? (May 27th)
Friday, May 27 by

What better way to honor their memory than by spending your extra day off watching a movie about a talking smart-alec panda that knows kung fu?

We All Scream For 'Hangover 2'
Review: The Hangover Part II
Friday, May 27 by

This is everything we loved about ‘The Hangover’ and more all new epic, outrageous comedy.