Movie Lists

Thank God Fincher didn't choose Limp Bizkit for all that white male rage.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Fight Club’
Tuesday, August 12 by

I want you to listen as hard as you can.

That's dangerously close to a Wes Anderson font, Mr. Fincher.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘The Social Network’
Tuesday, August 5 by

If Trent Reznor and David Fincher couldn’t make Facebook cool, then it was probably beyond hope.

This look, just like Vince Vaughn, has not stood the test of time.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Swingers’
Tuesday, July 29 by

Wherein one of the most interesting films of the decade spawns some of the least interesting trends.

Seedy.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Trainspotting’
Tuesday, July 22 by

It’s a workplace dramedy, and the workplace is “heroin addiction.”

Kids aren't this interesting, but sometimes it's nice to pretend they are.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘The O.C.’ (,Bitch)
Tuesday, July 1 by

The most conservative backdrop for a TV show gets some indie rock.

Above the Rim soundtrack cover
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Above The Rim’
Tuesday, July 1 by

MOUNT UP!

That's a pretty creepy album cover.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Juno’
Tuesday, June 17 by

This film may have served as quirk’s (temporary) death rattle.

For all the virgins out there that can't even drive.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Clueless’
Tuesday, June 3 by

This film has an appearance by an ageless Paul Rudd and a soundtrack with Radiohead. It’s very blessed.

The Tenenbaums on a roof
Soundtrack Studies – Wes Anderson
Tuesday, May 20 by

Music is Anderson’s second-biggest calling card. Next to his unabashed love of the Futura font.

Whatever they're selling, I'm buying.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Boogie Nights’
Tuesday, May 13 by

If it wasn’t for the music, this would be a far more disturbing film.

Uma Thurman smoking
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Pulp Fiction’
Tuesday, May 6 by

Maybe this movie was so good it could have made any collection of songs popular.

I swear to God, the bottom says, "Mudhoney & Sir-Mix-Alot
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Judgment Night’
Tuesday, April 29 by

What probably stemmed from a focus group of teenage boys turned into a pretty strong anthology.

The Crow rooftop
Soundtrack Studies: ‘The Crow’
Tuesday, April 22 by

“Ca-CAW! CA-CAWWW!”

BRING ON THE NOSTALGIA.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘The Big Chill’
Tuesday, April 15 by

This soundtrack is the musical equivalent of wrapping a chenille blanket around someone, handing them some tea, and repeating softly, “We’re all in this together, and you’re doing great.”

Zach Braff and Natalie Portman on a motorcycle in 'Garden State'.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Garden State’
Tuesday, April 8 by

In which Zach Braff uses indie rock in an attempt to make morose whining cool.

Stephen Colbert posing.
Report: Stephen Colbert Is The Top Choice To Replace Letterman
Friday, April 4 by

May he’ll play some cowardly liberal this time around.

Martin Blank reading with a pistol.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Grosse Pointe Blank’
Tuesday, April 1 by

The movie and soundtrack have something to offer, provided you can get past the painful triple-pun title.

Drive soundtrack
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Drive’
Tuesday, March 25 by

It’s the satin jacket of soundtracks.

Few things: Why aren't they even remotely looking at each other? Why is the penguin wearing a Hawaiian shirt? And what in God's name are on Sandler's feet?
Soundtrack Studies: ’50 First Dates’
Tuesday, March 18 by

Any movie that has Adam Sandler and a ukelele on the poster might as well be marked with a skull and crossbones.

Lloyd prefers the term "mixologist" these days.
9 TV and Movie Bars We Love (But Terrify Us Anyway)
Monday, March 17 by

You must REALLY like alcohol if you’re willing to these places.

twilight new moon soundtrack cover
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Twilight: New Moon’
Tuesday, March 11 by

I hate it when good things happen to bad movies.

"Hey, Old Sport," he proclaimed. "Thanks, Old Sport," he replied.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘The Great Gatsby’
Tuesday, March 4 by

If you’ve read the track listing, you’ve experienced the album the way the director intended.

Hello, 90's.
Soundtrack Studies: ‘Singles’
Tuesday, February 25 by

The fastest way to legitimize a genre of music? Have Cameron Crowe make a movie about it.

Screen Shot 2014-02-11 at 10.26.58 AM
5 Reasons to Watch Geek & Sundry’s New Webseries, Caper
Wednesday, February 12 by

Good guys acting bad.

Romantic-Roses-roses-13966449-1280-960
7 Most Romantic Movies To Watch With Your Valentine
Friday, February 7 by

Ah, romance.

Hallmark doesn't have a card for this.
7 Movies That Will Make You Glad You’re Single On Valentine’s Day
Thursday, February 6 by

Ask yourself: Would you want to trade places with any of these folks?

Tony Stark got a little richer.
The 10 Highest-Grossing Films Of 2013
Friday, January 3 by

Two non-remakes, non-adaptations, or non-sequels grace the list.

I've caught 'Catching Fire' fever. Please call my doctor.
The 7 Greatest Dystopian Sequels Of All Time
Friday, November 15 by

The future’s not alway coming up roses.

Son of Robocop.
7 Best Superhero Suits From Film and Television
Friday, September 20 by

Dress for success…

See the movie again to determine if James Franco REALLY looks this much like Edgar Wright in the film.
7 Reasons You Should Rewatch ‘This Is The End’
Friday, September 6 by

My only friend, the end.